Private Onsen Day Trip in Ito, Shizuoka: Hourly Family Baths for Two

For a day-use private bath in Ito, Shizuoka, the two anchors are Matsubara Daikokutenjin-no-yu, a public bathhouse 7 minutes on foot from Ito Station where a private bath is 800 yen for 50 minutes, and Asahi-no-yu at Ito Marine Town, about 5 minutes by bus, where a private bath is 6,000 yen for two hours on a weekday, three groups a day. No overnight stay is needed: family baths (kazoku-buro) and private baths (kashikiri-buro) are rented by the hour within walking distance of the station. A suspension notice for Asahi-no-yu's private bath still sits hidden in that page's HTML, so call 0557-38-1811 to confirm it is taking bookings. Every figure below was read on the facilities' own pages and the Ito Tourist Association's on 2026-09-13.
The short answer
- Closest to the station (7 minutes on foot): Matsubara Daikokutenjin-no-yu, 800 yen / 50 min, 15:00-22:00, open daily.
- Shortest block (40 minutes): Ogawa Hotei-no-yu, 10 minutes on foot, 600 yen / 40 min, 16:00-21:00, closed Thursdays.
- Longest block (two hours): Asahi-no-yu, about 5 minutes by bus, 6,000 yen on a weekday, 8,000 at weekends and on designated days, three groups a day, two adults plus children (four to five people in total).
- Reservation not required: Ito Onsen Daitokan, 12 minutes on foot, 800 yen day-use bathing with three private baths, per the Ito Tourist Association's page (the inn's own site could not be reached that day).
The bathhouse pages do not say whether the room price includes the bathing fee (300-450 yen per adult), so ask at the desk. All prices and times as of 2026-09-13.
Public bathhouses on foot (or one stop by train) from Ito Station: 600-2,000 yen a room
Five of Ito Onsen's public bathhouses rent a family or private bath in 40- to 60-minute blocks, all from the afternoon. None says whether the room can be booked, so phone for a fixed time. Prices come from the Ito Tourist Association's day-use bath list; Ito City's own bathhouse page carries no list or prices.
- Matsubara Daikokutenjin-no-yu, 7 min on foot. Bathing 400 / 200 yen; private bath 800 yen for 50 minutes, 15:00-22:00, the only one of the four with a family bath that opens every day.
- Ogawa Hotei-no-yu, 10 min. Bathing 300 yen / 50 yen junior high and under; family bath 600 yen for 40 minutes, 16:00-21:00, closed Thursdays.
- Bishamonten Shiba-no-yu, 15 min. Bathing 400 / 200 yen; family bath 2,000 yen for 60 minutes across four rooms, 14:00-22:00, closed Tuesdays with a consecutive closure each month; the largest of the Shichifukujin-no-yu bathhouses, per the page.
- Oka Hotei-no-yu, 20 min. Bathing 450 yen for junior high and up, free below that; family bath listed as "60 minutes, small 600 yen, large 700 yen", unexplained, so ask at the desk. 14:00-22:00, closed Sundays and the fourth Saturday.
- Kamata Fukurokuju-no-yu. Bathing 300 / 190 yen; family bath 900 yen for 50 minutes, 14:00-22:00, closed Wednesdays. Nearest station Minami-Ito, one stop from Ito at 190 yen (185 with an IC card, fares revised 14 March 2026 - Izukyu fares).
All of the above as of 2026-09-13. Bathing-only fees and closing days for each bathhouse are in Ito Onsen's Seven Lucky Gods public baths: prices and hours.
Asahi-no-yu at Ito Marine Town: from 6,000 yen for two hours
A day-use hot-spring facility at the roadside station in Yukawa, Ito City. The private bath takes three groups a day at 6,000 yen on weekdays and 8,000 yen (tax included) at weekends and on designated days, for two hours; the bath is available 10:00-20:00 with a last reception at 18:00, for "two adults plus children, four to five people in total". The price is stated to include entry, the private bath, the large baths, the towel set and indoor wear. Advance booking is the stated route; a free slot can be taken without one. With three groups a day, phone 0557-38-1811 first if your date is fixed. A suspension notice for the private bath still sits hidden in the HTML of the Asahi-no-yu page, so confirm on the same call that bookings are open. As of 2026-09-13, from the facility and private-bath page.
For the large baths only, 5:00-21:00 (last reception 20:30): weekdays 1,000 yen adults and 600 yen children (age 3 to elementary school); at weekends and on designated days 1,500 yen with a towel or 1,400 without, children 750 or 700 yen. Maintenance closures 10-11 December 2026 and 11-12 March 2027; the roadside station's hours page gives a different 22:00 closing, so check before an evening visit. Tokai Bus from Ito Station takes about 5 minutes one way: 200 yen for adults until 30 September 2026, 220 yen from 1 October 2026. A child (elementary school and under) pays half the adult fare rounded up, so 100 yen at the current 200; pre-school children travel free, two per accompanying adult (Tokai Bus discounted fares). The revised child fare is absent from the main fare table, so check on the day. On foot, the Ito Tourist Association says about 13 minutes, while the facility's own access page gives two figures, "5 minutes by bus, 20 minutes on foot" and "about 15 minutes on foot one way". As of 2026-09-13, from Asahi-no-yu Seaside Spa, the association page for the roadside station, the association page for its footbath and Tokai Bus fare revision.
Four inns listed with a private or family bath by the Ito Tourist Association
- Ito Onsen Daitokan, 12 min on foot, tel 0557-37-5166. Day-use bathing 800 yen adults, 400 yen elementary, infants free, towel rental extra, open daily. "The three private baths can be used with no reservation and no extra charge," says the association's page; the inn's own site could not be reached that day. Bathing starts at 14:00; the closing time is cut off on that page, so call.
- Kameya Rakan, about 3 min on foot, tel 0557-37-1515. Day-use bathing 1,000 / 500 yen, 14:00-17:00 last entry, bath towel 300 yen. Private open-air bath separately and by reservation: 3,000 yen weekdays, 3,800 at weekends, 45 minutes a session for up to three people a group; ask at the desk; day-use bathing may be unavailable in busy periods. The inn's own site returned an SSL error that day, so these are the association's figures.
- Izu-Kogen / Jogasaki Onsen Hanafubuki, 13 min on foot from Izu-Kogen Station (750 yen by Izukyu from Ito), tel 0557-54-1550. Lunch and day-use bathing are received 11:30-14:00, no regular closing day. The inn's own blurb says "seven private hot-spring baths can be used freely at any time without a reservation", but neither that page nor the inn's own site says whether a day visitor may use them, or at what price, so call.
- Laforet Ito Onsen Yu-no-niwa, 8 min on foot, tel 0557-37-3133. Day-use bathing 1,000 / 500 yen, towel rental extra, 12:00-20:00, from 15:00 Tuesday to Thursday. Its family bath is described as private and available 24 hours, but that text addresses overnight guests.
These four are the inns whose listings mention a private or family bath; others list day-use bathing without one, among them Hotel Lavie Kawaryo (1,100 yen adults, 770 elementary, 550 pre-school, towels included, from 14:00, 7 min on foot) and Ito Kowakien (14:00-17:00, not on Saturdays or in busy periods). All of the above as of 2026-09-13. Accommodation is out of scope here.
A half day for two: private bath, lunch with a sea view, Tokaikan
- 11:00 Tokai Bus from Ito Station to Marine Town, about 5 minutes one way (200 yen, 220 yen from 1 October 2026).
- 11:30 Lunch at Izu-Kogen Beer's seafront cafe restaurant: 11:00-20:30 last order, closing 21:00, 72 terrace seats the official page describes as having a sea view; marinated sashimi bowl 2,910 yen including tax. Other places with a sea view are in ocean-view lunch in Ito without a car.
- 13:00 Two hours in the private bath at Asahi-no-yu (6,000 yen on a weekday, 8,000 at weekends and on designated days, towels included). Three groups a day, so call 0557-38-1811 to check both the slot and that bookings are open.
- 15:30 Bus back to Ito Station, then 7 minutes on foot to Tokaikan: 300 yen adults, 150 yen children, 9:00-21:00 (last entry 20:00), closed the third Tuesday of each month - the next day when that is a public holiday - and 1 January. At weekends and on public holidays its bath runs 11:00-19:00, 500 / 300 yen; on weekdays the bath is closed.
- 16:30 Walk the Matsukawa promenade back; the free footbath Fureai-no-yu is open 10:00-17:00.
Prices and times as of 2026-09-13. If it rains, an on-foot indoor route is in a rainy day in Ito for adults and couples.
A full day, and who you come with
For a full day, take Izukyu to Izu-Kogen (750 yen) for Hanafubuki, where lunch and day-use bathing are received 11:30-14:00 - call first, since day-use access to the seven private baths and their price are not stated - then come back for Matsubara Daikokutenjin-no-yu from 15:00 or Ogawa Hotei-no-yu from 16:00. With children, Bishamonten Shiba-no-yu has four rooms and Oka Hotei-no-yu charges no bathing fee below junior high; Asahi-no-yu's private bath takes two adults plus children, four to five in total. Children in nappies use the baby bath at Asahi-no-yu and cannot bathe at Tokaikan. On your own, a large bath is cheaper than a room - the closest is Yukawa Benten-no-yu, 5 minutes on foot, 350 / 150 yen, 14:00-22:00, closed Wednesdays. As of 2026-09-13. See also Ito sightseeing without a car, the one-day model course, a rainy day with kids and lunch with kids. For a morning walk by the sea instead, take Izukyu to Kawana: see Kawana sightseeing from Kawana Station.
Booking, towels and bath manners
A private bath follows the same washing routine as a shared one: onsen etiquette for first-timers, sento versus onsen and tattoos and onsen. A private bath is still governed by each house's own tattoo policy, and none of the official pages read for this article states one, so call the bathhouse or inn if you have ink. As of 2026-09-13.
FAQ
Do you need a reservation for a day-use private onsen bath in Ito?
It varies. Asahi-no-yu asks for an advance booking (three groups a day) but admits you without one if a slot is free - call to confirm it is taking bookings, as a suspension notice sits hidden in its page. Kameya Rakan's private open-air bath is by reservation. The Ito Tourist Association's page for Ito Onsen Daitokan states that its three private baths need no reservation and cost nothing extra; the inn's own site could not be reached. For Hanafubuki, day-use access to the private baths is not stated, so call. The five public bathhouses say nothing about booking, so phone them. Checked 2026-09-13.
How much does a private bath for a couple cost in Ito, Shizuoka?
At the public bathhouses, 600-2,000 yen a room - from 600 yen for 40 minutes at Ogawa Hotei-no-yu to 2,000 yen for 60 minutes at Bishamonten Shiba-no-yu. The pages do not say whether that price includes the bathing fee (300-450 yen per adult), so ask at the desk. At the day-use spas, Asahi-no-yu is 6,000 yen on a weekday and 8,000 at weekends for two hours, towels included, and Kameya Rakan 3,000 or 3,800 yen for a 45-minute session for up to three people, on top of the bathing fee. Checked 2026-09-13.
Is there a day-use family bath within walking distance of Ito Station?
Yes: Matsubara Daikokutenjin-no-yu 7 minutes on foot (800 yen / 50 min), Ogawa Hotei-no-yu 10 minutes (600 / 40, closed Thursdays), Bishamonten Shiba-no-yu 15 minutes (2,000 / 60, four rooms, closed Tuesdays) and Oka Hotei-no-yu 20 minutes (600 or 700 / 60). Among inns open to day visitors, Kameya Rakan is 3 minutes away and Ito Onsen Daitokan 12. Checked 2026-09-13.
Are towels included with a day-use private bath in Ito?
The private bath at Asahi-no-yu includes the towel set and indoor wear; for the large baths alone a bath towel is 220 yen to rent. Ito Onsen Daitokan charges extra for towel rental, Kameya Rakan includes an ordinary towel and rents bath towels at 300 yen, and Laforet Yu-no-niwa charges extra. The five public bathhouses list nothing about towels, so bring your own. Checked 2026-09-13.
Verification
Checked on 2026-09-13, with the five public bathhouses and Kameya Rakan re-read on the tourist association's pages on 2026-09-14 (Kameya Rakan publishes the price, the 45-minute session and the party size for its private open-air bath). Checked against the official pages linked above (Ito Tourist Association, Ito Marine Town and Asahi-no-yu Seaside Spa, Hanafubuki, Tokai Bus, Izukyu, Ito City). No phone or on-site checks. Two inns' own sites could not be read that day (Daitokan refused the connection, Kameya Rakan returned an SSL error), so their figures come from the association pages. Hanafubuki's day-use price, and whether a bathhouse room fee includes the bathing fee, are not stated anywhere official, so they are not given here. Tokai Bus fares change on 1 October 2026 (new fare table, PDF). Re-check before you go.
Preguntas frecuentes
- Do you need a reservation for a day-use private onsen bath in Ito?
- It varies. Asahi-no-yu asks for an advance booking (three groups a day) but admits you without one if a slot is free - call to confirm it is taking bookings, as a suspension notice sits hidden in its page. Kameya Rakan's private open-air bath is by reservation. The Ito Tourist Association's page for Ito Onsen Daitokan states that its three private baths need no reservation and cost nothing extra; the inn's own site could not be reached. For Hanafubuki, day-use access to the private baths is not stated, so call. The five public bathhouses say nothing about booking, so phone them. Checked 2026-09-13.
- How much does a private bath for a couple cost in Ito, Shizuoka?
- At the public bathhouses, 600-2,000 yen a room - from 600 yen for 40 minutes at Ogawa Hotei-no-yu to 2,000 yen for 60 minutes at Bishamonten Shiba-no-yu. The pages do not say whether that price includes the bathing fee (300-450 yen per adult), so ask at the desk. At the day-use spas, Asahi-no-yu is 6,000 yen on a weekday and 8,000 at weekends for two hours, towels included, and Kameya Rakan 3,000 or 3,800 yen for a 45-minute session for up to three people, on top of the bathing fee. Checked 2026-09-13.
- Is there a day-use family bath within walking distance of Ito Station?
- Yes: Matsubara Daikokutenjin-no-yu 7 minutes on foot (800 yen / 50 min), Ogawa Hotei-no-yu 10 minutes (600 / 40, closed Thursdays), Bishamonten Shiba-no-yu 15 minutes (2,000 / 60, four rooms, closed Tuesdays) and Oka Hotei-no-yu 20 minutes (600 or 700 / 60). Among inns open to day visitors, Kameya Rakan is 3 minutes away and Ito Onsen Daitokan 12. Checked 2026-09-13.
- Are towels included with a day-use private bath in Ito?
- The private bath at Asahi-no-yu includes the towel set and indoor wear; for the large baths alone a bath towel is 220 yen to rent. Ito Onsen Daitokan charges extra for towel rental, Kameya Rakan includes an ordinary towel and rents bath towels at 300 yen, and Laforet Yu-no-niwa charges extra. The five public bathhouses list nothing about towels, so bring your own. Checked 2026-09-13.