秋分 Shūbunday and night in balance again · 9월 23일 – 10월 7일

Tokaikan, Ito: Admission, Hours, Onsen Bath Days (2026) and the Spirited Away Question

Exterior of Tokaikan, a wooden former hot-spring inn in Ito, Shizuoka
Abasaa / Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons

Tokaikan (東海館) in Ito costs 300 yen for adults and 150 yen for children, and is open 9:00–21:00 (last entry 20:00). Its hot-spring bath opens only on Saturdays, Sundays and national holidays, 11:00–19:00, for 500 yen. Those prices apply from April 1, 2026. It closes on the third Tuesday of each month and on January 1, has no parking, and is a 7-minute walk from JR Ito Station. Source: Ito Tourist Association (checked 2026-09-23).

Tokaikan is a wooden hot-spring inn from 1928 that now belongs to the city of Ito, Shizuoka, and is open as a museum of itself: you walk through the old guest rooms, corridors and banquet hall, and on weekends you can bathe in its tiled baths. This guide gives the fees, hours, closing days, bath schedule, café, accessibility and access, all taken from the Ito city government and the Ito Tourist Association and dated. It also checks the popular claim that Tokaikan was "the model for Spirited Away" against what Studio Ghibli and the city have actually published.

Admission and bath fees (from April 1, 2026)

The Ito Tourist Association announced a fee change on February 5, 2026. Until March 2026 (fiscal 2025) admission was 200 yen for adults and 100 yen for children.

TicketAdmission (individual)Admission (group of 20+)Bath
Adult300 yen250 yen500 yen
Child150 yen100 yen300 yen (elementary school and younger)
Preschool childFreeFreeFree for age 2 and under; children still in diapers may not bathe
Disability certificate or Mirairo ID appFree for the holder and one companionNot stated
  • Room use costs 1,000 yen per hour (same notice).
  • Whether the bath fee includes admission is not stated on the official pages (as of 2026-09-23). Some travel sites say it does; ask at the front desk rather than rely on that.
  • Payment methods are not published. The official pages say nothing about cards, IC cards (Suica/PASMO) or QR payments, so carry enough yen in cash for admission and the bath.
  • The disability exemption accepts the Japanese disability certificate or the Mirairo ID smartphone app. A foreign disability card is not mentioned either way.

Sources: Ito Tourist Association fee notice and Tokaikan page (checked 2026-09-23).

Opening hours and closing days

ItemDetails
Hours9:00–21:00 (last entry 20:00)
Closed3rd Tuesday of every month (the next day if that Tuesday is a national holiday), and January 1
Suggested visit length (official)30–90 minutes
Phone+81-557-36-2004
Address12-10 Higashi-Matsubara-cho, Ito, Shizuoka 414-0022
  • Closing day confusion: some travel sites still list the "third Monday". The Ito Tourist Association's current page says the third Tuesday. If sources disagree, the official page and the sign at the door win.
  • Because it stays open until 21:00, Tokaikan works well as an evening stop after a day at Mt. Omuro, the Jogasaki coast or Komuroyama.

The hot-spring bath (weekends and holidays only)

The bath is closed on weekdays. On Saturdays, Sundays and national holidays it opens 11:00–19:00, and the large and small baths swap between men and women during the day.

TimeMenWomen
11:00–12:45Large bathSmall bath
13:00–14:45Small bathLarge bath
15:00–16:45Large bathSmall bath
17:00–19:00Small bathLarge bath
  • This table re-orders the official listing ("men large / women small 11:00–12:45, 15:00–16:45; women large / men small 13:00–14:45, 17:00–19:00"). 12:45–13:00 and 16:45–17:00 are changeover gaps, so arriving just before them means waiting.
  • The large bath is tiled from floor to walls, and the spout is described as the work of the artist Morita Toko.
  • Tattoos, towels and toiletries are not addressed on the official pages (as of 2026-09-23). Bring your own towel, and if you have visible tattoos, ask at the desk before paying — the published pages give no rule either way.
  • It is a Japanese shared bath: you wash at the taps first, then soak, without swimwear.
  • If you are in Ito on a weekday and want a soak, the town's public bathhouses are an option; see Ito Onsen public baths (Shichifukujin no Yu).

Source: Ito Tourist Association, Tokaikan bath (checked 2026-09-23).

Café

There is a café (kissa-shitsu) inside; the Tourist Association lists its capacity at about 60 people. Café hours and menu prices are not published by the city or the Tourist Association (as of 2026-09-23). Travel sites list times, but since they cannot be checked against a primary source they are left out here. Call ahead or check at the door.

Accessibility, luggage and remote work

  • The building is not barrier-free, and wheelchair visits are not possible (Ito Tourist Association).
  • Luggage storage and coin lockers are not mentioned on the official pages. Ito Station has the Ito City Tourist Information Center inside the station (+81-557-37-6105), which is the place to ask about luggage and directions.
  • The Tourist Association also lists Tokaikan as a remote-work spot: the 3rd-floor rooms "Tsuru-no-ma" and "Chidori-no-ma", Wi-Fi (reference speeds about 150 Mbps up and 180 Mbps down) and desks and chairs, at the room-use rate of 1,000 yen per hour.
  • English-language signage and staff English are not described on the official pages.

Getting there and parking

  • 7 minutes on foot from JR Ito Station (Ito Tourist Association).
  • There is no parking (both official pages say "none"), and the official pages do not name a nearby car park. Coming by train is simpler.
  • Train options from Tokyo to Ito are compared in Tokyo to Ito by train. If you are still choosing between the two resort towns, see Atami or Ito?.

What the building is (Ito city's official record)

According to the Ito city Lifelong Learning Division:

YearEvent
1928Founded as a hot-spring inn by Inaba Yasutaro, a timber merchant
1938The Ito Line railway opens; the inn is enlarged as guests shift from individuals to groups
1949The lookout tower (boro) is added
1997The inn closes and the building is donated to the city
March 30, 1999Designated a City of Ito cultural property (building no. 22)
1999–2001Preservation and restoration work
Summer 2001Reopens as a tourism and cultural facility
  • Wooden, three storeys (five in part), with a building area of 1,320 m² and a 120-tatami banquet hall.
  • It is a city-designated cultural property. English and Japanese write-ups sometimes call it a "national registered tangible cultural property"; the city's cultural-property page lists it as a city-designated building, and we found no primary record of a national registration (as of 2026-09-23).
  • What to look at: decorative windows, ceilings, pillars, carvings and shoin-style fittings made from prized and oddly shaped timber. The 1st floor exhibits the inn's history and period tools; the 2nd floor covers writers linked to Ito, such as Kawabata Yasunari, Shimazaki Toson and Yosano Akiko, plus photographs of modern architecture.

Sources: Ito city, Tokaikan (city-designated building) and Ito city, Tokaikan facility page (checked 2026-09-23).

Was Tokaikan the model for Spirited Away?

Short answer: we found no official record that Tokaikan was a model for Spirited Away (as of 2026-09-23).

We checked three primary sources:

  1. Studio Ghibli's official Q&A ("Where are the films set?"). Ghibli says few of its films have a location it can officially name, and most mix several places. For Spirited Away, the only place it lists as "heavily referenced" (大いに参考にした場所) is the Edo-Tokyo Open Air Architectural Museum in Koganei, Tokyo. Ito and Tokaikan are not mentioned.
  2. Ito city's two Tokaikan pages (facility and cultural property). Neither mentions Ghibli or the film.
  3. The Ito Tourist Association's Tokaikan page. No mention of the film either.

So where does the idea come from? Travel sites and social posts describe Tokaikan as "like Spirited Away" or "rumoured to be one of the models". A three-storey early-Showa wooden inn with a lookout tower and a large banquet hall does look like the bathhouse in the film, and "it looks like" has drifted into "it was the model". Neither Studio Ghibli nor the city has said so.

The building is worth seeing for what it is: a 1928 wooden hot-spring inn kept largely intact as a city cultural property. Enjoy the Spirited Away atmosphere, but if you recommend it to friends, "not an official model" is the accurate way to put it.

Planning tips (built from the official details)

  • Weekend or holiday: tour plus bath. The bath opens at 11:00; avoid arriving right before the 12:45 and 16:45 changeovers.
  • Weekday: tour and café only. Allow 30–90 minutes.
  • Third Tuesday: closed (the next day if it is a holiday). Check the date if you travel in the third week of the month.
  • Festival and event dates in Ito are not covered here; they are on our sister site's Ito festivals and events calendar 2026–2027 (Japan-Event).

FAQ

Q. How much is admission to Tokaikan? A. From April 1, 2026: 300 yen for adults and 150 yen for children (groups of 20 or more: 250 and 100 yen; preschoolers free). Until March 2026 it was 200 and 100 yen (Ito Tourist Association, checked 2026-09-23).

Q. Can I use the Tokaikan hot-spring bath every day? A. No. The bath opens only on Saturdays, Sundays and national holidays, 11:00–19:00, with men and women swapping the large and small baths during the day. It costs 500 yen for adults and 300 yen for children (elementary school and younger); age 2 and under is free, but children still in diapers cannot bathe (Ito Tourist Association, checked 2026-09-23).

Q. When is Tokaikan closed? A. On the third Tuesday of each month (the following day if that Tuesday is a national holiday) and on January 1. Some travel sites say "third Monday", but the Tourist Association's current page says Tuesday (checked 2026-09-23).

Q. Was Tokaikan the model for Spirited Away? A. We found no official record of that. Studio Ghibli's official Q&A lists only the Edo-Tokyo Open Air Architectural Museum as a place "heavily referenced" for Spirited Away, and neither Ito city nor the Tourist Association mentions the film on their Tokaikan pages (checked 2026-09-23).

Q. Is there parking at Tokaikan? A. No. It is a 7-minute walk from JR Ito Station, so the train is the easy option. The official pages do not name a nearby car park (Ito Tourist Association, checked 2026-09-23).

Sources

Update log: 2026-09-23 created from official sources.

자주 묻는 질문

How much is admission to Tokaikan?
From April 1, 2026: 300 yen for adults and 150 yen for children (groups of 20 or more: 250 and 100 yen; preschoolers free). Until March 2026 it was 200 and 100 yen (Ito Tourist Association, checked 2026-09-23).
Can I use the Tokaikan hot-spring bath every day?
No. The bath opens only on Saturdays, Sundays and national holidays, 11:00–19:00, with men and women swapping the large and small baths during the day. It costs 500 yen for adults and 300 yen for children (elementary school and younger); age 2 and under is free, but children still in diapers cannot bathe (Ito Tourist Association, checked 2026-09-23).
When is Tokaikan closed?
On the third Tuesday of each month (the following day if that Tuesday is a national holiday) and on January 1. Some travel sites say "third Monday", but the Tourist Association's current page says Tuesday (checked 2026-09-23).
Was Tokaikan the model for Spirited Away?
We found no official record of that. Studio Ghibli's official Q&A lists only the Edo-Tokyo Open Air Architectural Museum as a place "heavily referenced" for Spirited Away, and neither Ito city nor the Tourist Association mentions the film on their Tokaikan pages (checked 2026-09-23).
Is there parking at Tokaikan?
No. It is a 7-minute walk from JR Ito Station, so the train is the easy option. The official pages do not name a nearby car park (Ito Tourist Association, checked 2026-09-23).

관련

MICHI Editorial
  • Japanese-culture experience editor

Verified, English-friendly guides to experiencing Japanese culture.