Tattoo-Friendly Onsen in Ito (2026): Official Policies, Stickers & How to Ask

Of the onsen in Ito that publish a tattoo policy, only K's House Ito Onsen says plainly that tattoos are fine; Laforet Ito Onsen Yunoniwa lets you bathe if the tattoo fits under two 8 x 10 cm cover stickers. Itoen Hotel, Ito Hotel Juraku, Wellness no Mori Ito, Akazawa Higaeri Onsenkan and Izu Kogen no Yu all state on their own sites that guests with tattoos are declined (checked 2026-09-23). Ito Marine Town's Asahi-no-Yu, the Seven Lucky Gods public baths, Tokaikan and Hotel Harvest Ito publish nothing either way.
This page collects only what each facility publishes on its own official site (or, for the public baths and Tokaikan, what the Ito Tourist Association publishes). Review sites, Q&A boards and "tattoo-friendly onsen" directories are not used as sources, because they are not the facility's own position and often lag behind policy changes. Where an official page is silent, this page says "not stated" and does not guess.
What the official pages say (checked 2026-09-23)
| Facility | Policy | Official wording (quoted or summarised) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| K's House Ito Onsen | Allowed | Japanese FAQ: "Yes, K's House Ito Onsen sets no particular restrictions." English FAQ: "Yes, we are tattoo friendly onsen hostel. Please do not worry about your tattoos while you use onsen." | FAQ (JP), FAQ (EN) |
| Laforet Ito Onsen Yunoniwa | Allowed if covered | Guests with tattoos are declined, "except where the tattoo can be covered with two cover stickers of 8 cm x 10 cm. Please ask the front desk for details." | FAQ |
| Itoen Hotel (Itoen Hotels group) | Large baths declined in principle | Group FAQ: bathing in the large and open-air baths is "declined in principle"; guests are asked to use the in-room bath or a private (kashikiri) bath. Itoen Hotel's onsen page: guests with tattoos are asked to refrain | Group FAQ, Itoen Hotel onsen |
| Ito Hotel Juraku | Declined, stickers included | "Regardless of occupation, guests with tattoos (including stickers) are declined from bathing." | FAQ, Onsen page |
| Wellness no Mori Ito (Kyoritsu Resort) | Large baths declined | "We ask guests with tattoos to refrain from using the large baths." | FAQ |
| Akazawa Higaeri Onsenkan (day-use bath) | Declined, with exceptions | "From February 1, 2025, we ask guests with tattoos (including body paint) to refrain from entering, except where permitted under the facility's own criteria." | Official |
| Izu Kogen no Yu (day-use bath) | Declined, stickers included | Entry is "strictly declined" for guests with tattoos (stickers included) and for heavily intoxicated guests. | Official |
| Izu-Ito Marine Town, Asahi-no-Yu | Not stated | The official onsen page (baths 5:00–21:00, last entry 20:30), including its entry notes, says nothing about tattoos | Official |
| Ito Onsen Seven Lucky Gods public baths | Not stated | The Ito Tourist Association's onsen page lists Bishamonten Shiba-no-Yu, Matsubara Daikokuten-no-Yu, Wada Jurojin-no-Yu, Yukawa Benten-no-Yu and Ogawa Hotei-no-Yu with no tattoo statement | Ito Tourist Association |
| Tokaikan (day bathing) | Not stated | The Ito Tourist Association and City of Ito pages on Tokaikan carry no tattoo statement | Ito Tourist Association |
| Hotel Harvest Ito | Not stated | The official onsen page, facilities page and accommodation terms (PDF) carry no tattoo statement | Official |
"Not stated" means neither allowed nor refused. Ask the facility directly; a phrase card is below.
Reading the table: three differences that matter
The refusals are not all worded the same way, and the wording changes what you can do.
- Do cover stickers help? At Laforet Ito Onsen Yunoniwa, yes: two 8 x 10 cm stickers. Ito Hotel Juraku ("including stickers") and Izu Kogen no Yu ("stickers included") are worded so that covering up does not get you in, and tattoo stickers themselves are also covered by the rule.
- Does the facility offer an alternative? The Itoen Hotels FAQ explicitly points guests with tattoos to the in-room bath or a private bath. Wellness no Mori Ito's rule is about "the large baths", so it does not address other baths.
- Is there an exception? Akazawa Higaeri Onsenkan keeps a door open "where permitted under the facility's own criteria", but does not publish the criteria. Call the main line (+81-557-53-5555) before you go.
The one clearly tattoo-friendly option: K's House Ito Onsen
Among the facilities checked, K's House Ito Onsen is the only one whose official FAQ says tattoos are simply not restricted (checked 2026-09-23).
- The English FAQ answers a guest with "large tattoos on my arms" with: "Yes, we are tattoo friendly onsen hostel."
- It has indoor baths only, no open-air bath. The FAQ mentions both public and private onsens, with shampoo, conditioner and body wash provided.
- K's House is a hostel, and its FAQ does not say whether non-guests can use the baths as day visitors. If you are not staying, ask first.
- Its Japanese FAQ also mentions an open-air bath about an 8-minute walk away that costs 500 yen per person, but does not name it or state that bath's tattoo policy.
Phrase card: asking by phone or email
For any facility marked "not stated", ask before you go. Short, specific questions get clear answers from a front desk.
| What you want to know | Japanese | Romaji | English |
|---|---|---|---|
| Can I use the large bath with a tattoo? | タトゥーがあるのですが、大浴場は利用できますか? | Tatū ga aru no desu ga, daiyokujō wa riyō dekimasu ka? | I have a tattoo. Can I use the large bath? |
| Is it OK if I cover it? | カバーシールで隠せば入浴できますか? | Kabā shīru de kakuseba nyūyoku dekimasu ka? | Can I bathe if I cover it with a sticker? |
| Describing it | 大きさは約10センチ×15センチで、場所は右腕です。 | Ōkisa wa yaku jussenchi kakeru jūgosenchi de, basho wa migiude desu. | It is about 10 x 15 cm, on my right arm. |
| Private bath? | 貸切風呂はありますか?予約は必要ですか? | Kashikiri-buro wa arimasu ka? Yoyaku wa hitsuyō desu ka? | Do you have a private bath? Do I need to book? |
| Day visitors? | 日帰りでも利用できますか? | Higaeri demo riyō dekimasu ka? | Can I use it as a day visitor? |
For email or a contact form, this Japanese text covers everything in one go (replace the date, size and body part):
件名: 入浴についての問い合わせ
○月○日に日帰り(または宿泊)で伺う予定です。右腕に約10cm×15cmのタトゥーがあります。大浴場は利用できますか。カバーシールで隠せば利用できる場合は、必要な大きさと枚数を教えてください。貸切風呂がある場合は、料金と予約方法も教えてください。
In English it says: "I plan to visit on [date] as a day visitor (or overnight guest). I have a tattoo of about 10 x 15 cm on my right arm. Can I use the large bath? If I can bathe with it covered by a sticker, please tell me the size and number of stickers needed. If you have a private bath, please tell me the price and how to book."
- Giving the size and location up front lets the staff judge immediately whether it can be covered.
- Note the date and the name of the person who answered, in case you need to refer back to it.
- Apart from K's House, which publishes an English FAQ, the pages checked do not say whether English is supported. Sending the Japanese text above avoids misunderstandings.
What cover stickers are
A tattoo cover sticker is a skin-coloured adhesive sheet, similar to a large plaster, that hides a tattoo while you bathe. Where a facility sets a size and number, as Laforet Ito Onsen Yunoniwa does (two sheets of 8 x 10 cm, a total area of 160 cm²), the safe reading is that a tattoo that cannot be covered within that limit cannot go in the bath.
- As of 2026-09-23, Laforet Ito Onsen Yunoniwa is the only Ito facility checked that publishes a sticker size.
- We could not confirm from any official source a shop in Ito that reliably sells cover stickers. Buy them before you travel. Whether a facility sells or provides them is a question for its front desk, as Laforet's FAQ suggests.
- At Ito Hotel Juraku and Izu Kogen no Yu, whose rules explicitly include stickers, covering up is not an option.
Private and in-room baths as the alternative
If a large bath's rules do not work for you, a private bath (kashikiri-buro, 貸切風呂) or the bath in your room means you will not share the water with other guests.
- The Itoen Hotels FAQ is the clearest example: it directs guests with tattoos to the in-room bath or a private bath.
- A facility's general rules can still apply to its private baths. When you book, ask "Can I use the private bath with a tattoo?" (Tatū ga atte mo kashikiri-buro wa riyō dekimasu ka?).
- Whether a private bath exists, what it costs and how to book it differ by facility, and private baths are sometimes suspended for maintenance.
Where these baths are, and what to pair them with
- Locations and prices for the public baths within walking distance of Ito Station are in Ito Onsen public bathhouses (Shichifukujin baths); their tattoo policy is not stated officially.
- Tokaikan's day-bathing days and hours are in our Tokaikan guide.
- Izu Kogen no Yu and Akazawa Higaeri Onsenkan are in southern Ito. If you are spending the day in that area, see the Izu Shaboten Zoo guide.
Onsen etiquette itself
The bathing sequence, rinsing before you get in and what to do with your towels are covered in onsen etiquette and tattoos, written for Japan as a whole. This page sticks to facility-level policy in Ito.
Frequently asked questions
Q. Are there tattoo-friendly onsen in Ito? A. K's House Ito Onsen states in its official FAQ that it sets no restrictions and calls itself a "tattoo friendly onsen hostel". Laforet Ito Onsen Yunoniwa allows bathing only if the tattoo can be covered with two 8 x 10 cm stickers (official FAQs, checked 2026-09-23). No other Ito facility checked states that tattoos are allowed.
Q. Can I use Ito Marine Town's Asahi-no-Yu with a tattoo? A. Its official onsen page, including the entry notes, says nothing about tattoos (checked 2026-09-23). Silence is neither a yes nor a no, so ask the facility directly.
Q. What about Itoen Hotel, Hotel Juraku and Wellness no Mori Ito? A. Itoen Hotels declines guests with tattoos from the large and open-air baths in principle and points them to the in-room or private bath. Ito Hotel Juraku declines bathing entirely, stickers included. Wellness no Mori Ito asks guests with tattoos not to use the large baths (official pages, checked 2026-09-23).
Q. What about Akazawa Higaeri Onsenkan and Izu Kogen no Yu? A. Akazawa Higaeri Onsenkan has asked guests with tattoos (including body paint) not to enter since February 1, 2025, except where permitted under its own criteria. Izu Kogen no Yu strictly declines entry to guests with tattoos, stickers included (official pages, checked 2026-09-23).
Q. What should I do about facilities that publish no policy? A. Phone or email them, giving the size and location of your tattoo. The phrase card on this page can be used as-is. "Tattoo-friendly" lists on review sites are not the facility's own position and do not track changes.
Verification
Checked on 2026-09-23 against: K's House Ito Onsen's Japanese and English FAQs; Laforet Ito Onsen Yunoniwa's FAQ; the Itoen Hotels group FAQ and Itoen Hotel's onsen page; Ito Hotel Juraku's FAQ and onsen page; Wellness no Mori Ito's FAQ; Akazawa Higaeri Onsenkan's official page; Izu Kogen no Yu's official site; Izu-Ito Marine Town's Asahi-no-Yu page; Hotel Harvest Ito's onsen and facilities pages and accommodation terms; and the Ito Tourist Association's onsen and Tokaikan pages. Nothing was confirmed by phone or in person. Policies change, so check the official pages before you travel.
Update history: 2026-09-18 created / 2026-09-23 re-verified against official sources and facilities added
Preguntas frecuentes
- Are there tattoo-friendly onsen in Ito?
- K's House Ito Onsen states in its official FAQ that it sets no restrictions and calls itself a "tattoo friendly onsen hostel". Laforet Ito Onsen Yunoniwa allows bathing only if the tattoo can be covered with two 8 x 10 cm stickers (official FAQs, checked 2026-09-23). No other Ito facility checked states that tattoos are allowed.
- Can I use Ito Marine Town's Asahi-no-Yu with a tattoo?
- Its official onsen page, including the entry notes, says nothing about tattoos (checked 2026-09-23). Silence is neither a yes nor a no, so ask the facility directly.
- What about Itoen Hotel, Hotel Juraku and Wellness no Mori Ito?
- Itoen Hotels declines guests with tattoos from the large and open-air baths in principle and points them to the in-room or private bath. Ito Hotel Juraku declines bathing entirely, stickers included. Wellness no Mori Ito asks guests with tattoos not to use the large baths (official pages, checked 2026-09-23).
- What about Akazawa Higaeri Onsenkan and Izu Kogen no Yu?
- Akazawa Higaeri Onsenkan has asked guests with tattoos (including body paint) not to enter since February 1, 2025, except where permitted under its own criteria. Izu Kogen no Yu strictly declines entry to guests with tattoos, stickers included (official pages, checked 2026-09-23).
- What should I do about facilities that publish no policy?
- Phone or email them, giving the size and location of your tattoo. The phrase card on this page can be used as-is. "Tattoo-friendly" lists on review sites are not the facility's own position and do not track changes.
Relacionado
Other
Ito Onsen public baths: the 'Seven Lucky Gods' sento — prices (¥300–450), hours and a walking order from Ito Station
Ito Onsen in Shizuoka has seven 'Seven Lucky Gods' public baths costing adults ¥300–450. They open 13:00–15:00 and close at 22:00; closing days differ and one is open daily. Fees, hours and a walking order from Ito Station, from the Ito Tourist Association's pages (as of 2026-09-14).
Onsen with tattoos: can you go? The honest 2026 guide
Yes, you can enjoy a Japanese onsen with tattoos — here's how: tattoo-friendly baths, cover-up patches, and private (kashikiri) baths, plus the etiquette that actually matters.
Tokaikan, Ito: Admission, Hours, Onsen Bath Days (2026) and the Spirited Away Question
Tokaikan, Ito: 300 yen, 9:00–21:00, closed 3rd Tuesday. Hot-spring bath on weekends and holidays (500 yen). 7 min from Ito Station. Spirited Away myth checked.

